Idaho Youth Games

Source: www.idahoyouthgames.org


The Idaho Youth Games is a non-profit 501(c)3 organization and was formed to plan a once-a-year three day event that offers 12 to 15 sports and arts activities in an Olympic style format and involves over 800 children from the region. The Idaho Youth Games has its own governing board consisting of an events commissioners, and representatives of the community.

The Idaho Youth Games is in its fourteenth year. The organization was formed out of the DARE/PAL organization for the specific purpose to provide a sports and cultural event that was fun, semi-competitive and offered over a dozen choices of sports activities to introduce children to a healthy alternative to bad choices. The games grew from 300 kids the first year to the program now reaches over 800 children between the ages of 6 and 18.

The Idaho Youth Games is devoted to offering healthy alternatives to potentially bad choices. We view sports and cultural activities as among some of the most important tools that keep a child engaged in their school and/or community and away from influences that have negative impacts on their lives and those around them.

During the three days of competition and arts/theater demonstrations participants are provided with various reminders of the need to make healthy choices when confronted with drug or alcohol use. More than 60% of participants come back year after year to continue to be involved in the Games. In addition, the program enlists over 250 community volunteers and encourages the participation of parents, spreading the message to these important role models as well. We have offered activities over the years including; basketball, bowling, dance, fun run, golf, karate, soccer, tennis, triathlon, volleyball, swimming, weightlifting, wrestling, theatre and arts. . These children come from throughout the region, as much as100 miles away, to participate.

Each year the Idaho Youth Games must raise $25,000 to fund the games and these donations come from a variety of sources. We receive cash and in kind donations from local business’ and we write grants to help with the cost. In addition we charge a registration fee of $10 which gets the children into as many activities as they can schedule, T-shirt, credentials that can be used as a fun bag tag after the games and provides two dinners and two breakfasts as well as a “fun night” activity (swimming, movie, amusements and games) at the YMCA.

If you can afford to help with DONATIONS or VOLUNTEER, please fill out the form provided on this web site. Thank You


 

2012 IYG EVENT COMMISSIONERS:

ARTS
Cheryl Hudgens


 
BASKETBALL - 3 on 3
Kyllian Andres
kyllianandres@yahoo.com
BOWLING
Phyllis Jewett
phone: 459-3400
CROQUET
Sheila McGregor
smcgregor154@gmail.com
DANCE
Tamara Scott
tmrscott@yahoo.com

 
DODGE BALL
Bill Crawford
email
FUN RUN
John Downey
jcdowney1@yahoo.com
KICKBOXING CAMP
Layne Nelson
l.a.y.n.e.b.a.b.e@gmail.com

 
PING PONG
TBD
email
SOCCER - 5 on 5
George Crookham
gwc@crookham.com
SOFTBALL
Heather Ramos
hramos@caldwellschools.org

 
SWIMMING
Sheila McGregor
smcgregor154@gmail.com

 
TAE KWON DO CAMP
Robert Sanchez
bobstkd@qwest.net

 
TENNIS
N/A
 
THEATER
N/A
 
TRIATHLON
John Downey
jcdowney1@yahoo.com
  WEIGHTLIFTONG
Alan Seevers
aseevers@ci.caldwell.id.us

 
 

2012 IYG EVENT COORDINATORS

YMCA Coordinator
Scott Curtis
scott.curtis@ymcatvidaho.org

 
Registration Coordinator
Judy Welker
judy.welker@yahoo.com
Volunteer Coordinator
Cheryl Hudgens
chudgens2012@gmail.com
Food Coordinator
Laurie Wood
 

2012 IYG EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBERS:

CHAIRMAN
Sheila McGregor
smcgregor154@clearwire.net

 
VICE-CHAIR
Christie Vernon
csvernon@clearwire.net
TREASURER
Scott Syme
ssyme@symere.com
SECRETARY
Mary Crookham
maryac@crookham.com
  EVENT DIRECTOR
Kevin Hudgens
kevin.hudgens@isp.idaho.gov

 
STAFF
Teri Ottens
tottens@amsidaho.com